The Foundation


The foundation established by the geographer Wilhelm Lauer († July 23, 2007), member of the class of Mathematics and Natural Sciences of the Academy, serves to promote earth science research. For this purpose, scholarships and grants are awarded to persons who act in accordance with the purpose of the foundation, as well as publications resulting from such work. Since 2009, the Wilhelm Lauer Prize has also been awarded.

Prize winner

Year Prize winner
2019 Dr. Frederick Reinig
2014 Dr. Fabien Maussion, Innsbruck
2013 Dr. Juliane Dame, Heidelberg
2012 Dr. Joachim Schmidt, Marburg
2011 Dr. Katja Trachte, Marburg
2009 Dr. Boris Thies, Marburg