The Academy

strassenseite_Vorjohann.jpg 

The Academy of Sciences and Literature | Mainz is a non-university research institution and scholarly society. As one of the eight academies of science in Germany, which are united in the Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities, its goal is both the cultivation of the sciences and literature and the preservation and promotion of culture. Currently, the Academy supervises 37 research projects from all disciplines with a focus on long-term basic research. In addition, it is dedicated to promoting young researchers, digitizing research data and findings, and promoting international cooperation.

Foundation

The roots of the Academy can be traced back to the foundation of the ›Brandenburg Electoral Society of Sciences‹ by Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz in 1700. The latter resulted in foundation of the ›Prussian Academy of Sciences‹ and, after World War II, the ›Academy of Sciences of the GDR‹ and the ›Academy of Sciences and Literature of Mainz‹. Leibniz' concern, to which the seal of the Mainz Academy with the motto ›Genio Leibnitii‹ (In the spirit of Leibniz) refers, was the association of outstanding scientists of all disciplines for the promotion of interdisciplinary top-level research and for dialogue on relevant questions of the present and future of society.
The idea of founding an Academy of Sciences and Literature in West Germany was born in 1949 among former members of the Prussian Academy. After World War II, they wanted to continue their research and projects in the newly founded Federal Republic. Allies for the foundation of the Academy were found in the French occupation zone. Particular mention should be made of General Raymond Schmittlein as well Alfred Döblin. Schmittlein had already promoted the reconstruction of the University of Mainz and the founding of the Institute for European History. Döblin - having returned from exile - worked as a cultural officer  in Baden-Baden and also had the reestablishment of the Prussian Academy of Arts and its Poetry Section in mind.

On 9 July 1949, an Academy of Sciences was founded, which, due to a special feature, occupied a singular position in the German academic landscape. In addition to a mathematics and natural sciences class and a humanities and social sciences class, the academy also included a class of literature (now expanded to include music). From the very beginning, the newly founded academy was based in Mainz, where it is still located today.

Structure

Neue_Klassenstruktur_Homepage.png 
[select image to enlarge]

The Academy is headed by the President, assisted by a Vice-President and a full-time Secretary General elected by the three classes. Each of the three classes can elect up to 50 full members from all over Germany, who represent the broadest possible spectrum of subjects and number among the leading scientists in their field. Many of the members have received numerous awards: Niels Bohr, Otto Hahn, Konrad Lorenz, Halldór Laxness, Saul Bellow, Heinrich Böll, Jean-Marie Lehn and others were honoured with the Nobel Prize.

Place of research

The Academy is a public corporation with employer status. Like all German Academies of Sciences, it is an interdisciplinary society of scholars that transcends national borders, on the one hand, and a sponsor of research projects from all disciplines, on the other hand. The Academy's work focuses on long-term basic research in the humanities. The projects' funding period is 12 years minimum and 25 years maximum. The Academy currently supervises 37 projects with around 200 employees in eleven of the overall sixteen federal states of Germany. These projects are of supra-regional importance and of national scientific interest.

Place of dialogue

Sessions, in which all three classes meet for an interdisciplinary discourse, take place four times a year. In addition, there are public lectures with subsequent discussions as well as symposia and conferences that emerge from the research environment of the Academy's members and projects and deal with current topics. In the series ›Future Issues of Society‹, high-ranking experts deal with interdisciplinary issues such as globalisation, biomedical ethics, climate change, religious issues or the ageing of our society. The answers to those questions also provide insights for politics and society. Additionally, symposia on topics such as ›Perspectives on Future Energy Supply‹, the euro crisis or questions of fundamentalism are taking up current debates.

Building

abendstimmung.jpg 

Since its foundation, the Academy of Sciences and Literature | Mainz has been located on the outskirts of the upper town of Mainz. The original temporary building has been transformed into a stately building, which consists of three wings that u-shapedly enclose the Academy's garden. The building's original part from the 1940s forms the centrepiece. In 1960 the plenary hall was added according to a design by the architect Walter Henn. At the beginning of the 1980s, a new building for the administration and the project workplaces was erected in the form of a block facing Geschwister-Scholl-Straße.

Die Akademie

strassenseite_Vorjohann.jpg 

Die Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur | Mainz ist eine außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtung und Gelehrtengesellschaft. Als eine der acht Wissenschaftsakademien in Deutschland, die in der Akademienunion zusammengeschlossen sind, ist ihr Ziel sowohl die Pflege der Wissenschaften und der Literatur als auch die Bewahrung und Förderung der Kultur. Derzeit betreut die Akademie Mainz 37 Forschungsvorhaben aus allen Fachrichtungen mit dem Schwerpunkt der langfristigen Grundlagenforschung. Zudem hat sie sich der Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses, der Digitalisierung von Forschungsdaten und –ergebnissen und der Förderung von internationalen Kooperationen verschrieben.

Gründung

Die Wurzeln der Mainzer Akademie liegen schon in der Gründung der ›Kurfürstlichen Brandenburgischen Sozietät der Wissenschaften‹ durch Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz im Jahre 1700. Aus dieser Sozietät gingen später die ›Preußische Akademie der Wissenschaften‹, nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg die ›Akademie der Wissenschaften der DDR‹ sowie die ›Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur zu Mainz‹ hervor. Leibniz' Anliegen, auf den das Siegel der Mainzer Akademie mit dem Motto ›Genio Leibnitii‹ (Im Geiste Leibniz) Bezug nimmt, war die Vereinigung herausragender Wissenschaftler aller Disziplinen zur Förderung interdisziplinärer Spitzenforschung und zum Dialog über brennende Gegenwarts- und Zukunftsfragen der Gesellschaft.
Die Idee zur Gründung einer Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur in Westdeutschland ist 1949 unter ehemaligen Mitgliedern der Preußischen Akademie entstanden. Sie wollten nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg in der neu gegründeten Bundesrepublik ihre Forschungen und Projekte fortsetzen. Verbündete für die Gründung der Mainzer Akademie fanden sie in der französischen Besatzungszone. Dabei ist besonders General Raymond Schmittlein zu nennen, der schon den Wiederaufbau der Mainzer Universität und die Gründung des Instituts für Europäische Geschichte beförderte ebenso wie Alfred Döblin, der – aus dem Exil zurückgekehrt – in Baden-Baden als Kulturoffizier arbeitete und ebenfalls eine Wiedergründung der Preußischen Akademie der Künste und deren Sektion für Dichtkunst im Sinn hatte. 
Am 9. Juli 1949 wurde eine Wissenschaftsakademie gegründet, die eine singuläre Stellung in der deutschen Akademienlandschaft einnahm, da sie außer einer Mathematisch-naturwissenschaftlichen sowie einer Geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Klasse auch eine Klasse der Literatur (inzwischen erweitert um die Musik) aufwies. Als Sitz für die neugegründete Akademie wurde von Beginn an der heutige Standort in Mainz ausgewählt.

Struktur

akademiestruktur.jpg 
[Bild zum Vergrößern anklicken]

An der Spitze der Akademie stehen die Präsidentin oder der Präsident, unterstützt von einer Vizepräsidentin oder einem Vizepräsidenten und einer hauptamtlich tätigen Generalsekretärin oder einem Generalsekretär, die durch die drei Klassen gewählt werden. Jede der drei Klassen kann bis zu 50 ordentliche Mitglieder aus ganz Deutschland wählen, die ein möglichst breites Fächerspektrum präsentieren und zu den führenden Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern ihres Faches gehören. Viele der Mitglieder sind vielfach ausgezeichnet worden. Den Nobelpreis erhielten u. a. Niels Bohr, Otto Hahn, Konrad Lorenz, Halldór Laxness, Saul Bellow, Heinrich Böll, und Jean-Marie Lehn.

Ort der Forschung

Die Akademie in Mainz ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts mit Dienstherreneigenschaft. Sie ist wie alle deutschen Akademien der Wissenschaften einerseits eine interdisziplinäre und die Landesgrenzen überschreitende Gelehrtengesellschaft, andererseits Trägerin von Forschungsvorhaben aus allen Fachrichtungen. Dabei liegt der Schwerpunkt der Akademiearbeit auf dem Gebiet langfristiger Grundlagenforschung im Bereich der Geisteswissenschaften. Die Mindestlaufzeit dieser Vorhaben beträgt 12 Jahre. Die Höchstförderdauer liegt bei 25 Jahren. Die Mainzer Akademie betreut derzeit 37 Projekte mit rund 200 Mitarbeitern in elf Bundesländern. Diese Vorhaben sind von überregionaler Bedeutung und gesamtstaatlichem wissenschaftlichem Interesse.

Ort des Dialogs

Viermal im Jahr finden Sitzungen statt, in denen sich alle Klassen zu einem fächerübergreifenden Diskurs treffen. Dazu gibt es öffentliche Vorträge mit anschließenden Diskussionen ebenso wie Symposien und Tagungen, die aus dem Forschungsumfeld der Mitglieder und der Projekte entstehen und sich aktuellen Themen widmen. In der Reihe ›Zukunftsfragen der Gesellschaft‹ setzen sich hochrangige Expertinnen und Experten interdisziplinär z. B. mit Problemen der Globalisierung, der biomedizinischen Ethik, dem Klimawandel, Religionsfragen oder dem Problem des Alterns unserer Gesellschaft auseinander. Die Antworten auf solche Fragestellungen liefern dabei auch Erkenntnisse für Politik und Gesellschaft. Auch zusätzlich durchgeführte Symposien zu Themen wie ›Perspektiven zukünftiger Energieversorgung‹, zur Eurokrise oder zu Fragen des Fundamentalismus greifen aktuelle Debatten auf.

Gebäude

abendstimmung.jpg 
Der Plenarsaal der Akademie [Bild zum Vergrößern anklicken]

Seit ihrer Gründung liegt die Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur | Mainz am Rande der Mainzer Oberstadt. Aus dem ursprünglichen Provisorium ist ein stattliches Gebäude geworden, das nun aus drei Trakten besteht, die u-förmig den Akademiegarten umschließen. Den Mittelpunkt bildet der ursprüngliche Teil aus den 1940er Jahren. 1960 wurde der Plenarsaal nach einem Entwurf von Walter Henn angebaut. Anfang der 1980er Jahre wurde mit einem zur Geschwister-Scholl-Straße stehenden Riegel ein neues Gebäude für die Verwaltung und die Projekt-Arbeitsstellen errichtet.