The Class Structure of the Academy

The Academy of Sciences and Literature | Mainz is divided into three classes: the Class of Mathematics and Natural Sciences, the Class of Humanities and Social Sciences, and the Class of Literature and Music. Each class comprises up to 50 full and corresponding members. An Ordinary membership requires residence in the Federal Republic of Germany; corresponding members can be elected from Germany and abroad.

The Class of Mathematics and Natural Sciences

Mathe-Klasse.JPG 

The Class of Mathematics and Natural Sciences focuses on long-term observations and data collections in the fields of basic biological and geoscientific research, including biodiversity and climate research.

Projects Members

 

The Class of Humanities and Social Sciences

Geistesklasse1.jpg 

The Class of Humanities and Social Sciences supervises long-term projects. The emphasis is on the publication of scientific dictionaries, the edition of sources and inscriptions. In this context, electronic media are becoming increasingly important for the implementation of projects and the publication of results.

Projects Members

 

The Class of Literature and Music

Literaturklasse.jpg 

The academy has its own class of literature as a unique feature within the Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities. In 2010, the class was extended by the field of Music.

Further Information

Projekte  Mitglieder

Die Klassenstruktur der Akademie

Die Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur | Mainz gliedert sich in drei Klassen: die Mathematisch-naturwissenschaftliche Klasse, die Geistes- und sozialwissenschaftliche Klasse sowie die Klasse der Literatur und der Musik. Jede Klasse umfasst bis zu 50 ordentliche und korrespondierende Mitglieder. Die ordentliche Mitgliedschaft setzt einen Wohnsitz in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland voraus; korrespondierende Mitglieder können aus dem In- und Ausland gewählt werden.

Mathematisch-naturwissenschaftliche Klasse

Mathe-Klasse.JPG 

Forschungsschwerpunkte der Mathematisch-naturwissenschaftlichen Klasse sind vor allem langjährige Beobachtungen und Datensammlungen auf den Gebieten der biologischen und geowissenschaftlichen Grundlagenforschung, u. a. der Biodiversitäts- und der Klimaforschung.

Projekte Mitglieder

 

Geistes- und sozialwissenschaftliche Klasse

Geistesklasse1.jpg 

In der Geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Klasse werden Langzeitvorhaben betreut. Die Schwerpunkte sind die Herausgabe wissenschaftlicher Wörterbücher, Edition von Quellen und Inschriften uvm. Zunehmende Bedeutung bei Durchführung der Vorhaben und Veröffentlichung der Arbeitsergebnisse gewinnen dabei die elektronischen Medien.

Projekte Mitglieder

 

Klasse der Literatur und der Musik

Literaturklasse.jpg 

Die Akademie hat als Besonderheit innerhalb der Wissenschaftsakademien eine eigene Klasse der Literatur. Im Jahr 2010 wurde sie um den Bereich der Musik erweitert.

Informationen zur Klasse

Projekte  Mitglieder

 

Strukturell

Institutionell