Logo_Farbe_Text.jpg 

Research, Development, Training and Transfer in the Digital Humanities

With the foundation of the Digital Academy in 2009, the Academy established a recognized research department for Digital Humanities. The department combines digitalization as well as the digital research methods and technologies based on it.

The field of research and activity of the Digital Academy ranges from conceptual consulting for new applications and current projects to the support of academy projects within the scope of evaluations and the acquisition and implementation of own research projects (e.g. funded by the BMBF, the DFG or the Volkswagen Foundation).

Another central field of activity of the Digital Academy is the training of young scientists in the study programme "Digital Methodology". In addition, it plays the role of a research and development partner in numerous projects of the Academy, thus ensuring mutual, cross-project know-how transfer and synergy effects with regard to the development of digital research tools.

Focus of Research

The Digital Academy focuses on research software engineering in the humanities. Special emphasis is putt on the on the development of quality and sustainability criteria, the use of current web technologies in cultural research contexts, the application of Linked Open Data and Semantic Web technologies for the development of new analysis and post-use scenarios. Also in focus are the exploitation of research potential through the use of graph technologies and methods of historical network research as well as the development of solutions for the analysis and visualization of humanities data and research objects.

Logo_Farbe_Text.jpg 

Forschung, Entwicklung, Ausbildung und Transfer in den Digitalen Geisteswissenschaften

Mit der Digitalen Akademie hat die Mainzer Akademie seit 2009 eine anerkannte Forschungsabteilung für Digital Humanities etabliert, in der nicht nur die Digitalisierung, sondern insbesondere die darauf aufbauenden digitalen Forschungsmethoden und -technologien gebündelt werden.

Das Forschungs- und Tätigkeitsfeld der Digitalen Akademie reicht von der konzeptionellen Beratung bei Neuanträgen und laufenden Projekten über die Begleitung von Akademievorhaben im Rahmen von Evaluationen bis hin zur Einwerbung und Durchführung von eigenen Forschungsprojekten (z.B. gefördert durch das BMBF, die DFG oder die Volkswagenstiftung).

Auch die Ausbildung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses im Studiengang „Digitale Methodik“ ist ein zentrales Tätigkeitsfeld der Digitalen Akademie. Zusätzlich nimmt sie in zahlreichen Vorhaben der Mainzer Akademie die Rolle eines Forschungs- und Entwicklungspartners ein und sorgt damit für den wechselseitigen, projektübergreifenden Know-how-Transfer sowie für Synergieeffekte im Hinblick auf die Entwicklung digitaler Forschungswerkzeuge.

Forschungsschwerpunkte der Digitalen Akademie

Zu den besonderen Forschungsschwerpunkten der Digitalen Akademie gehört das Research Software Engineering in den Geisteswissenschaften mit einem besonderen Fokus auf der Entwicklung von Qualitäts- und Nachhaltigkeitskriterien, der Einsatz aktueller Webtechnologien in kulturellen Forschungskontexten, die Anwendung von Linked Open Data und Semantic Web Technologien zur Entwicklung neuer Analyse- und Nachnutzungsszenarien, die Erschließung von Forschungspotenzialen durch den Einsatz von Graphentechnologien und Methoden der historischen Netzwerkforschung sowie die Entwicklung von Lösungen zur Analyse und Visualisierung von geisteswissenschaftlichen Fachdaten und Forschungsgegenständen.