Exhibition ›Strichmädchen‹ with works by Judith Clara

Judith_Clara_neu.png 

With her One Line Art Judith Clara creates works of art from a single line.

In her works she deals exclusively with the representation of women. As soon as the pen touches the paper, it is only lifted off again when the work of art is completed. 

The afterwards unchangeable line makes every painting an absolute unique and captivates by its very personal expression.

Judith Clara was born in Saarbrücken, Germany and became known with her art via the Internet (e.g. instagram.com/banjoclara). 

Opening hours:

10 October to 20 December 2019

Mon-Thu 9am - 4pm | Fri 9am - 1pm

Admission free

 

Sound installation ›liquid borders‹ by Peter Kiefer

IMG_9868.jpg 

For the installation 'liquid borders' Peter Kiefer recorded the sounds of the sea at the outermost points of the European heartland. He travelled to the northernmost point of Scotland, the westernmost point in Portugal, the southernmost point in Spain and the easternmost point of Cyprus, especially for the work on display at the Academy from 17 June. 

Already the considerations connected with the selection of the locations lead to a reflection on the borders of Europe - and go beyond them. For the installation thus contains a general examination of the definition of borders in general - of what we want to include and what we want to exclude. The sounds and objects define a border experience for the listening viewer and at the same time direct the view beyond. A space for own thoughts and reflection opens up. 

Peter Kiefer teaches as professor for sound art composition at the University of Music in Mainz. The exhibition takes place in cooperation with the research project ›art research sound‹. 

Opening hours:

17 June to 30 June 2019

Mon - Thu, 9am - 4pm | Fr 9am - 1pm

in the Garden of the Academy

Admission free

Exhibition ›Blumen und Bäume‹: works by Petra Balbach

Baum_in_Himmerod_kleiner.jpg 

Petra Balbach has been artistically active for over 40 years and since then she has also been working on the theme of the exhibition. Flowers and trees appear in her portrait, nude, still life and landscape paintings and are almost always painted directly in front of nature. Since 2013 the works have been changing through her involvement with collage. Snippets of paper from newspapers and magazines are worked into the pictures in such a way that they are often only recognizable on closer inspection. Further levels of meaning emerge, which can be further expanded by fragments of writing, as far as the viewer wants and allows.

Petra Balbach studied in Frankfurt and Paris and has been running her own art school in Heidesheim-Heidenfahrt for 15 years. She teaches drawing and painting at the WBZ Ingelheim and organizes an annual painting trip with her students. Exhibitions at home and abroad.

Opening hours:

1 February to 26 April 2019

Mon-Thu 9am - 4pm | Fri 9am - 1pm

Admission free

 

›Makrorinden‹ by Nina Stoelting

Nina_Stoelting__O.T.__Stiluebung_Birke_VII___2017__Mixed_media__48_x_30_cm.jpg 

Myth and cultural history of the tree are the roots of this cycle'. Nina Stoelting depicts greatly enlarged sections of tree bark in their ideal-typical structures and shows construction plans of nature, which, removed from their natural context, create an irritating independence and abstraction. Snapshots of nature, which is constantly renewing itself, are captured, resisting transience by repeating its own principle of transience.

The focus of the group of works ›Makrorinden‹, which is on display at the academy, is on partly large-format panel paintings, which are characterised by a relief-like surface structure in combination with subtle colouring. Starting from sketches, Nina Stoelting develops the final composition in the working process. The material is applied in numerous layers, ranging from very pastose to glazed, creating a wide range of tensions that are characteristic of the artist's working method.

The theme of structure runs like a red thread through the work of the artist, born in 1966. After a very comprehensive academic education and doctorate, Nina Stoelting now focuses on painting. Nature and history, often in combination, form the intellectual basis of her works, which are usually executed in large cycles and determine the choice of motif. Her works have been presented very successfully at numerous exhibitions at home and abroad and have been awarded several prizes.

www.ninastoelting.de

Opening hours:

8 May to 26 July 2019

Mon-Thu 9am - 4pm | Fri 9am - 1pm

Admission free

Ausstellung ›Strichmädchen‹ mit Werken von Judith Clara

Judith_Clara_neu.png 
© Judith Clara

Mit ihrer One Line Art erschafft Judith Clara Kunstwerke aus einer einzigen Linie.
In ihren Werken beschäftigt sie sich ausschließlich mit der Darstellung von Frauen. Sobald der Stift das Papier berührt, wird er erst wieder abgesetzt, wenn das Kunstwerk vollendet ist. 
Die im Nachhinein unveränderbare Linie macht jedes Bild zu einem absoluten Unikat und fesselt durch ihren ganz persönlichen Ausdruck.
Judith Clara ist in Saarbrücken geboren und mit ihrer Kunst über das Internet (z.B.: instagram.com/banjoclara) bekannt geworden. 

Öffnungszeiten:
10. Oktober bis 20. Dezember 2019
Mo-Do 9-16 Uhr | Fr 9-13 Uhr

Eintritt frei

 

Klanginstallation ›liquid borders‹ von Peter Kiefer

IMG_9868.jpg 
© Astrid Garth

Für die Installation ›liquid borders‹ hat Peter Kiefer die Klänge des Meeres an den äußersten Punkten des europäischen Kernlandes aufgenommen. Er reiste eigens für die ab 17. Juni in der Akademie ausgestellte Arbeit zu dem nördlichsten Punkt Schottlands, dem westlichsten in Portugal, dem südlichsten in Spanien und dem östlichsten Punkt Zyperns. 

Schon die mit der Auswahl der Orte verbundenen Überlegungen führen zu einer Reflexion über die Grenzen Europas – und gehen darüber hinaus. Denn die Installation beinhaltet damit eine generelle Auseinandersetzung mit der Definition von grenzen überhaupt – dem, was wir einschließen und was wir ausgrenzen wollen. Die Klänge und die Objekte definieren eine Grenzerfahrung für den hörenden Betrachter und lenken gleichzeitig den Blick darüber hinaus. Es öffnet sich ein Raum für eigenen Gedanken und Reflexion. 

Peter Kiefer lehrt als Professor für Klangkunst-Komposition an der Hochschule für Musik in Mainz. Die Ausstellung findet in Kooperation mit dem Forschungsprojekt ›art research sound‹ statt. 

Öffnungszeiten:
17. Juni bis 30. Juni 2019
Mo – Do, 9-16 Uhr | Fr 9-13 Uhr
im Akademiegarten

Eintritt frei

Ausstellung ›Blumen und Bäume‹: Arbeiten von Petra Balbach

Baum_in_Himmerod_kleiner.jpg 
Baum in Himmerod, Petra Balbach

Seit über 40 Jahren ist Petra Balbach künstlerisch tätig und seitdem beschäftigt sie sich auch mit dem Thema der Ausstellung. Blumen und Bäume tauchen in ihrer Portrait-, Akt-, Stillleben- und Landschaftsmalerei auf und sind fast immer direkt vor der Natur gemalt. Seit 2013 verändern sich die Arbeiten durch die Beschäftigung mit der Collage. Papierschnipsel aus Zeitungen und Zeitschriften werden so in die Bilder eingearbeitet, dass sie oft erst beim genaueren Hinsehen zu erkennen sind. Es entstehen weitere Bedeutungsebenen, die durch Schriftfragmente noch erweitert werden können, so weit, wie es der Betrachter möchte und zulässt.

Petra Balbach hat in Frankfurt und Paris studiert, leitet seit 15 Jahren eine eigene Kunstschule in Heidesheim-Heidenfahrt, unterrichtet Zeichnung und Malerei am WBZ Ingelheim und veranstaltet jährlich eine Malreise mit ihren SchülerInnen. Ausstellungen im In- und Ausland.

Öffnungszeiten:

1. Februar bis 26. April 2019
Mo-Do 9-16 h | Fr 9-13 h

Eintritt frei

 

›Makrorinden‹ von Nina Stoelting

Nina_Stoelting__O.T.__Stiluebung_Birke_VII___2017__Mixed_media__48_x_30_cm.jpg 
O.T. (Stilübung Birke VII), 2017 © Nina Stoelting

Mythos und Kulturgeschichte des Baumes bilden die Wurzeln dieses Zyklus’. Nina Stoelting stellt stark vergrößerte Ausschnitte aus Baumrinden in ihren idealtypischen Strukturen dar und zeigt Baupläne der Natur, die dem natürlichen Kontext entzogen eine irritierende Eigenständigkeit und Abstraktion erzeugen. Festgehalten sind Momentaufnahmen der stets sich erneuernden Natur, die sich durch Wiederholung des ihr eigenen Prinzips der Vergänglichkeit widersetzt.

Der Fokus der Werkgruppe ›Makrorinden‹, die in der Akademie zu sehen ist, liegt auf teils großformatigen Tafelbildern, die sich durch eine reliefähnliche Oberflächenstruktur in Verbindung mit subtiler Farbgebung auszeichnen. Ausgehend von Skizzen entwickelt Nina Stoelting im Arbeitsprozess den finalen Bildaufbau. Der Materialauftrag erfolgt in zahlreichen Schichten, die von sehr pastos bis lasierend ein großes Spannungsfeld erzeugen und charakteristisch für die Arbeitsweise der Künstlerin sind.

Das Thema Struktur zieht sich wie ein roter Faden durch das Werk der 1966 geborenen Künstlerin. Nach sehr umfassender akademischer Ausbildung und Promotion setzt Nina Stoelting ihren Schwerpunkt heute in der Malerei. Natur und Geschichte, vielfach in Kombination, bilden die gedankliche Grundlage ihrer meist in großen Zyklen ausgeführten Arbeiten und bestimmen die Motivwahl. Ihre Werke wurden bei zahlreichen Ausstellungen im In- und Ausland sehr erfolgreich vorgestellt und mehrfach mit Preisen ausgezeichnet.

www.ninastoelting.de

Öffnungszeiten:

8. Mai bis 26. Juli 2019 

Mo-Do 9-16 Uhr | Fr 9-13 Uhr

Eintritt frei